Tuesday, November 23, 2010

My experience with Worldcare Pet Transport

When I looked up this company on the web they only had one review; which was positive. Our experience with this company was so bad that I feel like I have to put it out there so no one else will go through what we went through.

My husband got a job transfer from Worcester, MA to Portland, OR. I knew that moving across the country was going to be stressful and difficult but I was mostly concerned with moving our 8 pets (4 cats, 2 Chinchillas, 1 Guinea Pig, and 1 Gerbil). I did a fair amount of internet research on pet relocation/transportation specialty companies. In theory the idea sounded good; most companies offer door to door service, booking the pets flights and some offer additional services such as acquiring required health documents and vaccination certificates from your vet.

At first I was considering flying just the rodents in cargo and taking several flights with my cats in the cabin with me; but one of my cats is oversized (18lbs) and would not be able to fly in the cabin. I contacted three different pet transport companies who returned a quote of $4000 or more just for my rodents alone; my husband's company had given us some extra money for moving expenses which we'd set aside to move the pets with but now it seemed the transportation companies were not going to be an affordable option. I started looking into what else I could do.

In the meantime my husband asked our moving company if they knew of any good options of getting our pets across the country. They said they'd do some research and get back to him. The next day we got a call from Reece at Worldcare Pet in Darien, CT. Reece is either the owner or the manager of the company and he made a point to say “We're not cheap, we're not the Walmart of Pet Transportation and we don't want to be.” He put our worries at ease explaining that the pets would be in good hands and instructed us to send an email with our pets' names, breeds, ages, and weights for an online quote. I sent the information off and got an email back from Wendy. This is when the problems began.

The quote from Wendy on 10/6/10 was for: 4 cats in 4 series #200 crates, 2 Chinchillas in 1 series #100 crate, and 1 Guinea Pig in 1 #100 series crate for $2695. This included basically everything except vet services (which I will go into later). I noticed two problems right away; the first being that this quote did not include my gerbil and also that my oversized cat would not be approved to ride in a series #200 crate as he exceeds the weight limit (something I would think a person who is in this line of work would already know).

I sent an email back right away inquiring about my gerbil. I also sent links to different travel cages because I wasn't sure what type of carrier she would need seeing as she is so small she could easily pass through the bars of a typical pet crate. This email went unanswered. I sent another email with my concerns that my oversized cat would need to travel in a series #300 crate. I got an email response from Wendy the following day that simply said “The additional cost for the larger crate is $275 plus the cost of the original quote.” I sent another email asking about my gerbil which also went unanswered.

I decided to contact Reece again as I was not getting through to Wendy. The following day I received a response from Wendy stating that she was working on trying to get all 8 pets on the flight. Four days went by without hearing anything else. On 10/12/10 I sent another email to Wendy explaining that my husband was leaving for Portland on 10/30/10, and I needed a date soon. I asked several questions in this email about food/water/fasting before hand, vaccination and health document requirements, etc. I got an email back from Wendy stating that it would cost $310 extra for my gerbil to fly plus an additional $110 for a custom crate. She did not answer any of my other questions except for information on the health documents. The cats required non expired rabies vaccination certificates and all 8 pets required a health certificate. In this email she stated that Worldcare Pet could take care of the health certificates for $35 per pet.

It was then I called Wendy to inquire about the custom crate for my gerbil; I sent her a few more links to travel cages that she said would not be airline approved so I agreed to pay extra for the custom crate. I also told her that I wanted her to take care of the health certificates for $35 per pet and I would get a copy of the cats rabies vaccines myself and fax them to her. I let her know I would be providing all the other stated travel crates for the pets and she told me to disregard the $275 additional for the series #300 crate. After that first phone conversation, I decided to chalk up her inability to answer questions in emails as a miscommunication or a fluke and agreed put down a 50% deposit for the services.

When I received the cats rabies certificates in the mail on 10/15/10 I had my husband fax them to Wendy right away. I sent her an email with a heads up and she emailed me back when she received them. I also spoke to her on the phone and she said “Everything looks great!” These were 3 year rabies shots that were administered in 2008 with an expiration in 2011. With Worldcare Pet taking care of the health certificates, there really wasn't much else we needed to do and I was anticipating a low stress experience.

On 10/20/10 I got word from the moving company that we now had a destination address for the pets to be delivered to. I wrote Wendy an email with the new address and requested a travel date for the pets of 11/2/10 if possible. Wendy wrote back that she would work with her operations department to see if that was an option and that she would get back to me “tomorrow”. Two days went by and I heard nothing from Wendy. I had not yet booked the date for the movers to come or for my own flight because I was waiting to hear back from Wendy. On 10/22/10 I emailed Wendy to see how things were going and if 11/2 was going to be possible for a travel date. I asked her again about the food/water and fasting. I don't remember who called who but I spoke to Wendy on the phone and she confirmed a travel date of 11/2 for all 8 pets. Regarding my feeding questions, she said the cats should fast but I should not give them food and water in their crates to fly.

On 10/28/10 I got a voicemail and an email from Wendy saying that she wanted to go over the crate sizes and some “incremental costs”. I called her back and she informed me that she'd just now spoken to their vet (this was 4 days before the pets flight) and found out that they'd raised the price for health certificates from the quoted $35 per pet to $85 per pet. I was shocked when I heard this and I wasn't really sure what to do. I said I would call my own vet and see if it would be possible to get the health certificates from them but I wasn't sure about the rodents because my current vet did not service rodents. Wendy then told me that the pets would have a 4 hour layover that I would have to pay an additional $250 for (another thing I thought that Wendy should have been aware of way ahead of time). She then put me over to speaker phone to talk to their “rodent expert” (who's name I cannot recall).

It was hard to hear the woman speaking to me because Wendy was coughing the whole time; so much so that the other employee asked her to stop. This “expert” informed me that the series #100 travel crates (chihuahua size) I purchased were not the right size for the rodents because I needed to buy series #200 (cat size) crates. I asked “Why?” and she told me that “There's just too much room in a series #100 travel crate and we don't want the rodents bouncing around in there. So what you'll need to do is get some series #200 size crates then get a wire cage and put it inside the crate.” Then she proceeded to explain to me how to take the top off of a travel crate in order to get a cage inside; as if I was too dumb to figure that out. “But why would I do that? There wouldn't be any extra room if I just used the series #100 crates that we already agreed upon.” I said. She still insisted that I needed the larger crate to then put a smaller wire cage inside. I started to get annoyed trying to explain that there would be 2 Chinchillas traveling in one crate and there wouldn't be any extra room for them to bounce around and this started a debate about the size of chinchillas. The “expert” and Wendy both seemed to think Chinchillas were small like the size of hamsters. I tried to explain several times that they were large like the size of a grapefruit not including the head and tail. She then told me that Nibbles (my guinea pig) and Fanny (my gerbil) would be traveling in the same crate (which I guess meant I wasn't getting a custom crate for the gerbil?) but they needed to be separated by two cages because they are a different species. Then the “expert” contradicted what Wendy had told me earlier and said that all the pets were required to travel with food and water but no pellet food or hay for the rodents. She then said I could feel free to give the chinchillas fresh fruit and vegetables for the flight (which I would not do because fresh fruit and vegetables would make chinchillas sick). When Wendy took back over the phone call; she let me know that she'd just gotten off the phone with the vet again and they informed her that they do not service rodents either and that the driver would now have to travel to two vets which would cause the pets to have to take a later flight and we would have to pick up the cost to have them boarded overnight. Again, this was 4 days before the pets flight.

When I got off the phone I was very upset. I had already been worried about the pets being in their crates for a whole day and now I was finding out that they could possibly be stuck in their crates scared overnight. In a panic I called my vet who said on such short notice; there was no way that they could fit in exams for four cats. I hung up and sat down on the bed and started crying because I didn't know what to do. (This was incidentally my birthday). I felt like the people at Worldcare Pet were incompetent and I didn't want to give them my business anymore but there was only 4 days left and they already had over $1200 from us and I felt like I had no choice. I called my husband at work who was already at the end of his rope; finishing out his old job with no time off before he started his new job across the country. He started calling local vets and fortunately convinced our previous vet to squeeze in the rodents at the last minute. The next day (10/29/10)was his last day of work; 3 hours of which now had to be spent at the vet's office getting certificates that were supposed to have been taken care of for us ahead of time by Worldcare Pet. We had no choice but to pay the $85 per pet for the cats to get health certificates from their vet. At this point we were so frustrated and angry but at least the pets were back on their original flight schedule and would not have to be boarded overnight. My husband went back to work and faxed the rodents health certificates and I got an email from Wendy saying that she had received them. She later sent an email with the pets trip itinerary. She again has the pets crate sizes wrong (she has them listed as 6 #200 series crates) and said if anything was misstated, I should drop her a line. I did so by sending her an email back saying the pets are traveling in 3 #200 series crates, 1 #300 series crate and 2 #100 series crates. I got an email back saying she has forwarded this information to the drivers.

The day before the pets flight (11/1/10) Wendy called me and asked for the number of my current vet “in case our vet needs to see their other vaccination records.” Ie: distempter, etc. (There is a reason I am mentioning this seemingly mundane phone call, please read on...)

The day of the flight: 11/2/10 the pets were picked up at about 7am by a driver who introduced himself as being from some other pet transportation company (I can't remember the name, maybe Starlight? Yeah, you are as confused as I was). I handed off our beloved pets and prayed to God that everything went smoothly.

Halfway through the day; after I had checked the status of the first flight on Continental's website about a hundred times; Wendy called my phone. This was 1 hour before the pets connecting flight was scheduled to depart. I let her leave a voicemail because it stressed me out to even think about Wendy at that point. I took a deep breath and listened to the voicemail. On it Wendy stated that she sent me an email with the “final quote” and yes, I am thinking that she does not know what the word “quote” means and that we needed to pay the balance in full before the pets second flight. I didn't know what that meant... if I failed to pay within the next hour would my pets be stuck in Newark, NJ?

I was even more floored when I read the “final quote” which came out to $4065! I tried calling Wendy back over and over again for the next five minutes thinking that if I don't pay this balance; my pets wont fly. Her phone went to voicemail every time. I tried calling the cell phone number she supplied on her voicemail; which turned out to be a wrong number. Finally, I sent an email authorizing the payment explaining that I can't get through to her over the phone and that her cell phone number is wrong. I got an email back from her saying that she had been on a call for the past 20 minutes (so it must have been alternate universe Wendy that called my cell phone five minutes prior).

The good news that happened was all the pets arrived safely in Portland, Or that night. Over the next few days I was busy cleaning up our house and putting in on the market for sale... I was alone in the empty house with both my pets and my husband on the opposite side of the country. I tried to put the thought of Worldcare Pet out of my mind but the more I went over the figures and the “final quote” it just wasn't adding up.

$2695 was the original quote plus $310 for Fanny plus $340 ($85 x 4) for health certificates and a $250 layover fee comes out to $3595. So why did the cost come out to $4065? Where did the additional $470 go? On 11/6/10 I sent Wendy an email asking for an itemized receipt because the final cost seemed higher than what it should have been. I was extremely nervous about receiving her response because I wouldn't want to wrongly accuse someone of “ripping me off”. I thought somehow I had forgotten something or added it up wrong. I need not have worried as I never got a response from Wendy.

After I arrived in Portland, my husband asked me to write a summary of all the complaints we had with the service we received from Worldcare Pet. I did so, and on 11/12/10 he wrote a formal complaint and sent it to Reece Mcdonnell.

The following day Wendy called my cell phone. This was a surprise to me that Reece would even allow the person we had so much complaint with to contact us again. My husband said he would handle the problem from then on so I didn't answer the phone. He called Wendy on 11/13/10 who said that she would be issuing a credit for $476 with absolutely no explanation for the overcharge. I received an email about this refund as well. My husband requested an itemized receipt and Wendy sent me an email with a PDF of the services performed by their vet. I was surprised to find that they had charged us $146 per cat instead of $85 because they gave all four cats rabies vaccinations that they didn't need.

Then I received a shocking email from Wendy stating: “As per my conversation with (Me) on November 1st, she advised me that all (4) cats were up to date on their rabies vaccinations and provided me with two of her local veterinarians contact numbers for the cats in order to obtain the vaccination certificates. We received the vaccination information on November 1st indicating that the cat’s rabies and feline vaccination had expired. Our local veterinarian in Boston would not issue a health certificate for the cats to travel unless they had updated vaccinations. I then called (Me) back on the same day and informed her that the vaccinations were not up to date. I contacted (Husband) and advised him that the cats would need to get their health check and updated vaccinations which he could pay for directly to our local veterinarian in Boston. (Husband) confirmed on November 1st that we could pay for the cat’s health/vaccinations and provide him with a final charge.”

There were so many lies in this email I couldn't believe it. The phone call she described was the mundane call I mentioned earlier. Never once in that conversation did Wendy bring up any issues with my cats rabies vaccinations. Also, they are 3 year shots and would not expire until 2011. She also stated in this email that she didn't get the vaccination certificates until 11/1 which is also a lie; as I have an email from her stating that she received them on 10/15/10! Also; if we'd had a conversation about this, why would she then call my husband for authorization? None of the lies even made sense. I was so hurt that it even came down to lying about us to cover her own mistakes.

My husband sent back an email to Wendy as well as Reece saying that we faxed the rabies certificates and they were received on 10/15/10 and that they were not expired. Also, if there had been an issue it should have been taken care of well before the day before the pets flight. He requested a conference call with Reece, Wendy, me, and himself for the following day at 12:30 Pacific time to discuss.

Worldcare Pet then had their vet call my husband and try to convince him that by Massachusetts state law they were required to give the cats an additional 1 year rabies shot on top of their unexpired 3 year rabies shot which doesn't make sense for two reasons: 1. The cats have had physical exams at two or our own vets in Massachusetts and never required an additional rabies shot and 2. If this were so, why would they give the cats not only 1 year booster shots but also charge us for additional 3 year shots they didn't need? I can't even be sure these vaccinations actually happened because we received no certificates.

I have mixed emotions about the conference call that happened on 11/17/10. Wendy informed us Reece gave her authorization to refund $1060 for the $476 overcharge and the entire $584 vet bill. Never once did she or Reece acknowledge that Wendy made huge mistakes and even lied about us. They blamed it all on their vet which they said they questioned doing business with now. I was so mad I didn't say anything except “I want it in an email.” They told us they would send an email confirmation and issue a refund to our credit card. On 11/18/10 we got nothing. My husband wrote an email to Reece on 11/19/10 inquiring about the refund and included the specific amount so that we had some written record of it. Reece answered back that their billing person had been out the day before but would get the refund and an email confirmation to us by the end of the day. You guessed it, by the end of the day we got nothing. On 11/22/10 we finally got a refund.

I'm seriously baffled how this company is still in business with such unbelievably poor customer service. The whole purpose of spending the extra money and hiring a professional Pet Transportation company is to make the move as stress free as possible and Worldcare Pet made it a hundred times worse than if we had just done all the work ourselves.


  1. This is what I experienced with WE MOVE PETS - there needs to be a federal investigation of these pet removal companies. Your website is awful, it is so difficult to find anywhere to report a case. I am feeling very frustrated. Is there no federal body that cares for animal rights? I hired an animal transport service, WE MOVE PETS, based in Texas to move my cat from Washington DC to Cambridge, MA. I have been having bad astham and feared that I could have an attack if I traveled with my beloved cat in the car. What a big mistake.
    I signed & paid. They could not give a definite pick up date or time, which seemed strange, but I have never used such a service before. When they arrived the van broke down & my friend spent 2 hours trying to help them. I had already left about an hour before to drive from DC to Boston to try and be there once they arrived with my cat. They never called to say there was a problem, I only found out that night when I called my friend. I then phoned them, they said my cat was boarded - a lie I later found out. The next day I again had to phone them, they said, my cat was being kept in the van - with four other animals including dogs, which obviously raised health concerns about such extended stays under suboptimal conditons - their vans are the size of a microbus my friend said. They said it would take another day before their vehicle was fixed - which would mean 3 days for my cat & 4 other animals, 3 of which were dogs, in cages in a locked van. Surely this is cruelty and a health risk to the animals? I asked to speak to the owner. She phoned AND SCREAMED AT ME over the phone from Texas & said they now wouldn't take my cat to Boston because I had complained!!. I was and am, completely traumatized, I cannot imagine how traumatized my cat is. They dumped my cat in the alley behind my vet's office, my vet in DC (DuPont vet) was furious. I am now having to pay a fortune to board my cat & get it flown to me. No apologies from We Move Pets. Just rude, disrespectful, abusive conduct. They should not be allowed to stay in business.

    1. I need a number and a name to contact this company does anybody have one.

    2. This blog is so nice to me. I will keep on coming here again and again. Visit my link as well.. wopet

  2. Wow, I'm just reading your comment now and it sounds like your experience was even more horrific than mine! I can't believe they left your cat in an alley. There seriously needs to be more awareness of these horrible "transport" companies.

    1. This is ridiculous I've been waiting since last night for my pets to be delivered and no one has reached out to me. And I'm in new York so its a 3 hr difference. Does anyone have a name and number I can call.

    2. may i please have a number to contact you. we have the same situation almost. i have evidence of them false explaining and have them not answering their calls on video. we have them calling "restricted" and all the emails sent

  3. this is now happening to me, could u guys please help prevent this to happening the diffrence is i think they set me up buy adoption one of their dogs, they use the same grammer and the same wordings, they took 110dollars that i was aware of saying thats all i needed to transfer a new husky puppy to me, then they took another 65$ saying it's from feeding the dog, now they want to charge me 230$ more and it mustbe done in 1 day. i couldnt find the money and so now im being charged for abanding a animal.

    1. You can not be charged with abandonment unless the animal is in your possession. If it never reached you you are not considered the owner. I got this tidbit of info from a friend who is a state trooper

  4. thank you for posting this - i will not be using them. We plan to use air pets - not sure if you have any experience with them. I'm quite nervous - taking our cats from NYC to London in 2 months...

  5. This is also happening to me right now with the same company: WorldCare Pet Transport.

    I wanted to adopt a cat from England, and I was asked to pay €120. I thought it was quite strange that this company has the main office in Colombia. When the cat was supposed to be on flight (right now the cat is flying, I suppose) I was asked to pay €340 extra. They say this extra ammount is for insurance, something they should have known before telling me to pay the initial amount.

    I've told them they have exactly 5 hours to bring the cat home, or they will get back a report at the police. Let's wait to see what happens.

    I do not recomend to use the services of this company, it is a complete fraud

  6. I'm looking for a company to transport my pet, Vader. He's a black lab, six years old, and we can't fit him in the car when we move. I want the very best for him. We're going from LA to Denver. http://www.flypets.com/

  7. Will your move take you overseas? Let Pet Express Sri Lanka manage your pet's international flights, pet hotel and customs paperwork, making your move easier for you and your pet. With all the details you have to manage when moving, one call to Pet Express will give you the piece of mind that your pets move will be handled for you.

  8. Pet scams happen to many innocent people. Some posts on this blog appear to be from victims of such scams. We just want everyone to know and to set the record straight - WORLDCARE PET TRANSPORT HAS NEVER SOLD PETS! We, too, are victims of these puppy selling scams perpetuated by cyber criminals. They steal our identity - illegally using our name and logo - and CLAIM TO BE US, but they are NOT! They want money and to get it, they illegally use the names of legitimate pet shippers. We post pet scam alerts on the home page of our official website (www.worldcarepet.com) and have been doing so for years. Check out this page from IPATA (International Pet and Animal Transportation Association) www.ipata.org/pet-scams to view the list of scammers and how to file a complaint with authorities. To those who posted here, unfortunately you may have experienced this pet scam, but it is NOT by our legitimate business, WorldCare Pet Transport. Those emails are coming from cyber criminals typically located outside of the United States who are falsely using our identity. We urge you to report the crime and the IPATA site provides details on what to look for and how to report this crime to federal authorities. - WorldCare Pet Transport

  9. Thanks for sharing this informative blog.

    AirVets Pet Relocation team is experts in international pet travel & air travel with boarding and veterinary services.

    Catch up with our latest pet shipping plans by giving a visit at http://www.airvets.com/

  10. I wish I read this earlier. They almost killed my dog. I have just written to Reece. Hopefully he takes action.

  11. I wish I read this earlier. They almost killed my dog. I have just written to Reece. Hopefully he takes action.

  12. Really Nice Post & information. Carrier Shipping & Border Crossing in Laredo. Forzatrans.com We specialize in providing Transportation Service b/w the NAFTA countries of CA, MX & USA. We are best in Laredo to Shipping your Carrier Border Crossing.

    Shipping services in Laredo
    Trucking companies in Laredo

  13. Great site! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more.

    Full Truck Load services in Laredo


  14. Very nice article & have great information. Forza Transportation Service - Carrier Shipping & Border Crossing in Laredo.

    Border Crossing services in Laredo

  15. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!
    cab from gatwick to heathrow

  16. This comment has been removed by the author.

  17. I have gone through, It's really a helpful article, Thanks for sharing this informative blog. For more info please visit pet transport.

  18. Friend, this web site might be fabolous, i just like it.
    swiss taxi

  19. Hello, this is an very important message I need to pass to someone out there passing through marital problems that all hope is not lost whatever the problem maybe, here is what you need to know to save your marital problem, I was once facing challenges in my relationship till I came across an article talking about the man I want to introduce to you reading this article right now. Dr Ekpen of Ekpen Temple is the man I want to recommend to you having marital problem which he can help you with his powerful spell to solve whatever the problem is, that you are facing in your marital life. Contact him today at: ekpentemple@gmail.com or whatsapp him on +2347050270218 you will be glad you did.


  20. Parking software condominium
    email blast to tenants
    Guest parking
    Web Parking Software for Condominiums and Other Commercial Buildings:
    Webparkingsoftware.com is free software for condominiums, apartments, commercial buildings and other parking areas. Our web based software offers great programming man hours as well as a complex code which you may not notice as a user. Interfaces are specially built simply and only needs few clicks and you are on total control of your commercial building.
    We help to promote great parking management system for apartments, condominiums, home owners associations, townhouses, and parking areas. The software is built for apartment managers, property managers, commercial property managers and board members who are involved to oversee managed parking spaces.
    www.webparkingsoftware.com uses a web based cloud model which is compatible with iPad or iPhone through app functionality for easy parking management in commercial building, apartments and other parking areas. For the user’s computer, you don’t need to install anything such as executable files. To run an application, it needs no dedicated machines as no data is locally saved. There is no maintenance for the customer and reduces security issues.
    Features of the web parking software:
    • Search and find easily a certain registrant by name, permit ID, license place, or other related fields. Through this feature, you can see who is parked on your commercial building.
    • Full vehicle management and registration where you can approve or just disapprove vehicle’s request to park in your condominium. Occupants can also manage their vehicles easily online.
    • Occupants in certain commercial building can appeal for the violation and pay with credit card online. Violations are electronically stored online to retrieve it easily. Violation reports are emailed with proper documentation.
    • CRM and email blasting for sending emails to registrants and other commercial property managers.
    With years of experience and technical skills, our professional management team has expertise in the IT field, parking management as well as business management. Our engineers have built a parking permit and management system that is first of its kind. Through our collaboration, we have spent more than two years to develop this parking management software. We made our procedures via phone, paper, fax and even snail mail and applied cloud based system so that we can improve the organization, method and reliability of such software.
    The software is free for only a limited time so that users can experience how useful the software is for commercial properties, apartments and other parking areas. Web parking software is created for easy management of your parking environment. It consists of full parking management system, assignment of parking spaces, issuance of professional parking permits, process or pay fines via online, allocation of parking spaces for guests and parking for special event, ticket violators, and manages and track occupants, properties and tenants.
    Through the use of this web parking software, you can manage your business buildings throughout the country and reduce 75% paper works. This is a great system to allow you with full control over your commercial building and other parking areas while you are in your office and through an iPhone or any mobile device .

  21. Being a waiter or waitress or a bartender can be a great way to earn a decent income. But tending bar or serving patrons can also be a very dangerous job, especially for women. Read on to find out what happened to Carrie the barmaid, and what she decided to do to protect herself. tctippers.com.au

  22. This is a great inspiring article.I am pretty much pleased with your good work.You put really very helpful information...
    Bringing pets to Colombo

  23. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful information specially the last part I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.
    Pet Import Permit in Sri Lanka